‘We do not endorse the subject matter and stock it [100+ copies] purely as a service…’

Interesting disclaimer on the website of one Australian Christian bookstore concerning Love Wins:

Despite stocking it only as a service, there are quite a few copies available:

I haven’t noticed any other books with a warning like this on their website. I suspect there may be slightly more dangerous books in there though…

Still, I understand their dilemma. They hardly want to be ostracised by the evangelical community or tarred with the same brush as Rob “Antichrist” Bell.

For the record, I do not endorse the contents of any of the books by John Piper on the shelves of my library. I stock them purely as a service for people who want to know what the author is writing about. Same goes much more strongly for Richard Dawkins, just in case you thought I was an atheist.

(Actually, I do not necessarily endorse the contents of any of the books on the shelves at all – they’re all there purely as such a service.)

5 thoughts on “‘We do not endorse the subject matter and stock it [100+ copies] purely as a service…’

  1. Hi Nathan,

    I do not understand why a Christian bookstore (even if it is evangelical )would want to issue such a warning. Bell is an evangelical. Are they so afraid of the fundamentalist purchasers of their books that they think they will lose so many sales that they will go evantually bankrupt?

    Shalom,
    John Arthur

  2. Hi Nathan,

    They’ve stocked 100 or more copies so they must be expecting a large demand for “Love Wins” but they are running scared of Fundamentalism with this disclaimer, perhaps?

    Are Evangelical pastors warning their congregations against Bell’s book? I hope not.

    John Arthur

  3. Hi guys, our mob will be reading it together, and I have read about half (its a bit too liberal for me in places). I can see why the controversy – he strikes at the TULIP of Calvinism, and I think that is why certain people are so upset, not so much for being liberal. 4-500 years ago, he would have been burned for it!

Leave a Reply

